Weekly Rewind 1.2.21

Weekly Rewind

The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.

This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

Life and Blog

Life: Insane how quickly two weeks can go. It seriously feels like it has been, like, three days since my break started and now I’m down to two days. It has been a very peaceful, much needed break. I took baths and read. I started a haul of my book shelves (I legitimately own thousands of books and just do not need that many). I’ve so far weeded about five boxes worth but need to keep going. I’m trying to be gentle with myself right now, but I also need to find some motivation to get some shit done.

Blog and reading: This week I posted a look at some of my favorite books and series this year as well as chatted about some of my current reading habits in this post: Best of 2020. I’m currently reading Alright, Alright, Alright which is an oral history of my all-time favorite movie Dazed and Confused and have finally re-picked up The Guest List. 

What I’m watching: We finally started watching the fourth season of Fargo and are enjoying it so far. I also watched the show Murder in the Bayou (which was on Prime but might be gone now), which was insane. It’s a documentary about the murder of eight women in Louisiana which is still unsolved. There is NO way that the cops aren’t involved and it is infuriating that they have not found justice for these women.

New books: I have some nice pretties to share today. So without further ado, I hope you’re all having fabulous, healthy weekends! Happy New Year!

For Review

Revenge of the Sluts by Natalie Walton

After intimate photos of several girls are anonymously emailed to the entire school, the girls band together to take down the perpetrator.

Good Neighbors by Sarah Langan

Per GR: “Celeste Ng’s enthralling dissection of suburbia meets Shirley Jackson’s creeping dread in this propulsive literary noir, when a sudden tragedy exposes the depths of deception and damage in a Long Island suburb—pitting neighbor against neighbor and putting one family in terrible danger.” I love a good domestic thriller.

The Obsession by Jesse Sutanto

A “You” for the YA crowd. This is about a boy who is stalking the girl he likes (he believes it is romantic). He believes she is perfect until he sees her kill her abusive stepfather. She is done being the victim and definitely doesn’t plan on playing the role of the perfect girl to her stalker.

Girls With Bright Futures by Tracy Dobmeier

Three girls are competing for the one spot at Stanford that the college promised to their prep school. When one of them almost dies it an event that doesn’t seem to be an accident, it becomes clear that their moms are willing to risk everything to see that their daughter is the one to snag the coveted spot.

Well that’s it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers’ weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind 1.2.21

Add yours

  1. Happy New Year! Breaks go by so fast, don’t they? It’s not fair!

    Oh my gosh Dazed and Confused… love that movie!

    Your new books all look fun too!! !

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑