Weekly Rewind 6.6.20

Weekly Rewind

The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.

This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

My Life and Blog

Life: I am officially on summer break. I still need to make my way back into the school to clean/sort my classroom (I’m seriously praying I didn’t leave food in my desk — which I’ve been known to do), but other than that, summer! 2020 has been a crazy year. I’ve been horrified by so much this last couple of weeks, but I do believe we are witnessing true change. For the sake of my students, I hope we are.

Blog and reading: I did post my regular look at new books and movies: What I’m Excited For, but I didn’t get it up until Thursday. I didn’t want to post anything on Tuesday that would just add unnecessary noise. I’ve been reading Landline for the first time (I tried it when it first came out but couldn’t get into it) and have been rereading 99 Days. I’m still reading The Bone Collector, which I imagine I will slowly get through. I recently snagged You Should See Me In a Crown, which I’m excited to start this weekend.

What I’m watching: We’ve finally finished Deadwood and watched the movie. I thought the series was well-written but have never really been into westerns. I’m definitely glad they made the movie, though, as I would have been right pissed if that is how the series ended. We’ve moved on to The Great on Hulu about Catherine the Great which is hilarious.

New books: I have a handful of pretties to share this week. So without further ado, I hope you’re all having fabulous weekends!

For Review

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson

Oh, that cover! This follows a black, gay teen running for prom queen for the scholarship money, and it looks adorable.

Burn Our Bodies Down by Rory Power

This cover is just amazing, plus the words twisty thriller. I don’t really know anything beyond that.

Dress Coded by Carrie Firestone

A MG novel about a group of eighth grade girls who start a podcast to protest their school’s sexist dress code.

The Golden Cage by Camilla Lackberg

The scorned wife of a billionaire plots his downfall. I’ve been turning to twisty adult novels more and more.

Fraternity: Stories by Benjamin Nugent

A group of stories about a fraternity.

Well that’s it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers’ weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind 6.6.20

Add yours

  1. Yay for break! Hope your summer gets off to a great start. And I had to laugh (sorry!!) about the food in the desk thing. that sounds like something I’d do too!

    Burn Our Bodies Down is definitely on my TBR after reading Wilder Girls.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed Landline but wouldn’t say it was my favorite by Rowell. I had some likability issues with Georgie. I hope you end up enjoying it!

    Like

  3. We enjoyed Deadwood 🙂 Our teachers had to pack up their rooms early so they could start building construction changes. So I guess that’s a benefit of having gotten out so early?!? This is the second mention I’ve seen today of You Should See Me in a Crown. I may need to check it out. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. I can’t wait to read Burn Your Bodies Down and Fraternity has me curious. I just started on Episode 1 of Season 4 of 13 Reasons Why. I’m kind of glad they are wrapping it up because I think it’s gone a tad downhill each subsequent season.

    I hope you don’t have any food surprises either!

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑