What I’m Excited For: Books, Movies, and Streaming (oh my!) Releases Week of 6.23.20

I spend an exorbitant amount of time looking for upcoming releases in both books and movies. I’ve been wanting to create a new weekly post for Natflix&Books for awhile and decided this would be the perfect post for my movie and book blog. On Tuesdays I’ll be featuring not just what is being released into the world of books each week, but also the movies you can look forward to on both DVD and in the theater. (Although, to be fair, I’m going to focus on the releases that I’m personally looking forward to.) So without further ado, here’s what I’m excited for this week.

Book Releases

Rebel Spy by Veronica Rossi

I’m excited for reimagining history story that follows a spy for the Revolutionary War (doesn’t it always seem to be WWII).

Girl, Unframed by Deb Caletti

This is apparently a “gripping thriller,” and I’m a fan of a good gripping thriller.

A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood

A 17 year old is swept up by the glamour of a brother and sister that move into the long-empty mansion across the way. I loving the cover.

My Eyes Are Up Here by Laura Zimmerman

This sounds like a sweet YA novel about a teen who wears a 30H sized bra and her connection with her new teammates.

The Swap by Robyn Harding

A domestic thriller that follows couples who swapped partners after a night of too much drinking.

The Sullivan Sisters by Kathryn Ormsbee

A group of teenage sisters find out about a inheritance from an uncle. There’s also a murder? The synopsis is a bit confusing (or maybe my mind just isn’t working like it used to).

DVD Releases

aa

Portrait of a Lady on Fire

A historical romance between a painter and a bride-to-be whose portrait she’s painting.

Streaming and At-Home Releases

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark

Michelle McNamara’s true crime biography gets the docu-series treatment. For those who don’t know. Michelle McNamara was Patton Oswold’s first wife who was obsessed with The Golden State Killer. She wrote this book about him but died before she saw him caught. I’m definitely excited to see this series. (HBO/6.28)

Eurovision Son Contest

This Netflix comedy (movie) follows Will Farrell’s and Rachel McAdam’s characters as they represent Iceland at the Eurovision competition. It looks like silly fun. (Netflix/6.26)

Irresistible

Written and directed by John Stewart, this political movie premiering at home follows a democratic strategist helping a retired veteran running for mayor in a small midwest town. I adore John Stewart. (Various platforms/6.26)

That’s what I’m excited for this week. Are you looking forward to any of these books, films, or shows?

3 thoughts on “What I’m Excited For: Books, Movies, and Streaming (oh my!) Releases Week of 6.23.20

Add yours

  1. The title of My Eyes Are Up Here caught my attention when I first saw it, but it actually sounds like a great YA contemporary.

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑