Weekly Rewind 10.16.21

Weekly Rewind

The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.

This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

My Life and Blog

Life: I’m struggling right now if I’m honest. I’m just so tired all of the time. The school year is going as well as can be expected. I’m so thankful to be in the community of wonderful students and fellow teachers, but it all feels so hard at the moment. The weather is supposed to finally be fall-like this weekend, which is great. I quite prefer warm weather, but there is just something about a cool fall day. I need to get out and go through my sweater bins. 

What I’m reading: I recently finished a couple of graphic novels: Big Apple Diaries and Girlsplaining and enjoyed both. I’m still reading Apples Never Fall (I know, for real) but swear I’m enjoying it and am almost down. My current mental state is frankly making reading really hard right now, even though I still read at least a little bit each day. It is what it is.

What I’m watching: I snagged the first season of Evil from the library for mostly background noise. It’s pretty silly but entertaining enough. I cannot wait for Dune at the end of this week! 

New books: I have a handful of pretties to share with you today. So without further ado, I hope you’re all having fabulous weekends!

For Review

The Ballerinas by Rachel Kapelke-Dale

I wanted to be a ballerina so badly when I was little. I’m still slightly obsessed and am excited for this one. This one follows a trio of ballerinas, bouncing back and forth from when they met as adolescents to their current adult lives. 

I Know Your Secret by Daphne Benedis-Grab

One of Us is Lying for the MG crowd, which follows a small group of students being blackmailed by an unknown person. 

If This Gets Out by Sophie Gonzales

Two teen boys in a boy band fall in love. Wonder what this is based on…(you know we all know).

True Crime Story by Joseph Knox

A crime writer uncovers the truth about the case of a missing university student and the woman who became obsessed with her case. 

The Big Reveal by Jen Larsen

A fat teen girl starts a secret burlesque show. 

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba

Per synopsis: “If you had the chance to change your future, would you take it? Perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman and Jason Reynolds, this powerhouse, mind-bending YA debut follows two teens, a generation apart, whose fates collide across time–and outside of it.”

The Coldest Touch by Isabel Sterling

I’ve read the first couple of chapters of this one and like it so far. It follows a girl who sees how a person is going to die every time they touch her. She teams up with a vampire who was sent to help her with her new powers. 

Fools in Love by various authors

This anthology tackles tired romance tropes like triangles and enemies-to-lovahs. 

Well that’s it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers’ weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind 10.16.21

Add yours

  1. I feel you here as a fellow teacher. At this stage, I think it’s just better to give up and read the rest of year. Next year we try again! If only life was that simple.

    I also like the look of The Ballerinas. I do ballet twice a week (nothing Prima Ballerina though! Gr4 RAD) and I love it.

    Have a good week and hang in there!

    Elza Reads

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: