Top Ten Tuesday: Throwback Freebie

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/original feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click the link to go to their site to see the original list for today, plus links to a whole slew of other blogs…After you read mine, of course.

TTT: Throwback Freebie

For this week’s freebie, I’m going to throw it back to my favorite chick-lit books. Right out of college, I worked at an awesome little book store and spent my days reading. I read all kinds of books in those days, but chick-lit (I hate that name, btw, but it is what it is) was my favorite. The new publisher Red Dress Ink was churning out titles, and I discovered new favorite authors that I still sometimes turn to these days. These titles are pure nostalgia to me. I’ve read each of them at least 3 times (and some of them even more than that). If I’m honest, writing this post makes me want to pick each and every one of them up right now.

Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

I’m so disappointed in the direction Giffin’s career has gone because I adored Something Borrowed (and Something Blue), as well as Baby Proof. The next couple were ok, but the one with the coach made me gag and I couldn’t finish it.

Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close

I love this little book that follows a group in that awkward age after college where you are supposed to be an adult, but being an adult sucks when you are single and broke. This is told in little vignettes. I just love it.

Girls Night In by various

This delicious anthology is full of stories from all of my favorites from Cabot to Keyes to McCafferty. Seriously, so many great authors in this one. Girls Night Out is also awesome.

Fashionistas by Lynn Messina

Full of back-stabbing and office intrigue, this one follows a young woman trying to make it in the world of fashion magazines (before The Devil Wears Prada did it).

Goodnight Nobody by Jennifer Weiner

I really love all of her early work, but this one is my favorite. It follows a woman/mom who is just trying to survive the world of perfect mothers while also trying to solve the murder of the most perfect one.

The Boy Next Door by Meg Cabot

I adore all of the “Boy Series” books, which is collection of very loosely linked stories told entirely of emails, instant messages, texts, etc.

Monkey Business by Sarah Mlynowski

I love Mlynowshi’s YA, too (especially Gimme a Call), but my favorites of hers as the ones following young adults in their early 20s. This one follows a group of college students as they get their Masters in Business.

Prep  by Curtis Sittenfeld

While I would definitely categorize this as literature, I can’t leave it off of a list of the books I read over and over in my early 20s. I adore this book. Adore.

Jemima J by Jane Green

This book and Good in Bed are the two books that started my decade-long affair with chick-lit. I love this cute little tale of a woman who loses a ton of weight and finds herself.

Remember Me? by Sophia Kinsella

A 28 year-old woman wakes up from a coma thinking she is still 25. She is surprised to see her body is toned, teeth are straight, and she apparently both married and sucessful. I liked the (first few) Shopaholic books, and love Can You Keep a Secret?, but this one is my favorite.

So that’s it for me. What did you come up with for your freebie? Link me up!

Hey lovely readers! I love meeting and connecting with new bloggers. If you decide to follow, my preferred method is Bloglovin’. Let me know if you are a new follower as I like to follow back. Thank you!

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Throwback Freebie

Add yours

  1. I’ve never worked in a bookstore but I kinda wish I would have. 🙂 At some point. And I didn’t realize how many books Sarah Mlynowski had written!

    Like

  2. I’ve LOVED anything by RedDress Inc and always look for them when I’m in used bookstores – I don’t even know if they’re around anymore!?! I also agree on you view re: Emily Giffin’s books – I really liked Something Borrowed, but stopped reading with the book with the coach. One of the first books I remember not finishing 🙂

    Great post!!!

    Like

  3. Hi! I loved Something Borrowed and Something Blue, too! And then when I read The One and Only, I was grossed out. haha. I DNFed that one once I confirmed where it was going. It makes me sad, too 🙂
    My TTT
    Leslie

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

