Weekly Rewind 8.5.17

Weekly Rewind

The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.

Throughout my student teaching semester I was using my weekend post as a way to let people know what’s going on in my life, so I’ve decided to rename my weekend post because this feature is more personal than just what books I’ve received. The Weekly Rewind will be about what’s going on with me and my blog, as well as about the books I’ve added to my shelves. This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

Life and Blog

Life: You guys! It happened! I got a job in PA! No more long distance marriage. No more 8 hour round-trip every weekend. I get to live with my husband and my cats and sleep in my bed. Not only did I find a job, I found a job that I am truly excited about. It is for a college-preparatory private school where I get to teach English, medieval history, and creative writing. I’m still loving my summer break, but I’m honestly excited for the school year. Thank you for all the well-wishes this summer (and for the last few years). So happy!!!

Blog and reading:WoW this week. I finished reading The Fourth Monkey, which was gory and intriguing. I didn’t realize that it was the first in a series (it was a complete story), but I’ll definitely pick up the next installment. I’m still reading Because You Love to Hate Me (it got put on hold to finish the other) and picked up The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly for a reread. I’m dyyyying to get my hands on The Arsonist so decided a reread would help me bide my time. I also started Hunger, My Friend Dahmer (they are making a movie) and Dark Places this week. Add to that some history books that I picked up at the library to help me prepare for teaching history for the first time. 

New Books: Just a few new books this week, but I’m excited for all of them. So without further ado, I hope you’re having fabulous weekends! 

For Revie

Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic

This has long been one of my most anticipated books of 2017. I have to admit that I’ve struggled to get into the couple of times I tried to pick it up, but I do hope to dive in soon.  I do love this cover.

Best.Night.Ever by various authors

This sound pretty fun. Written by seven authors and following seven characters as they prepare and go to a middle school dance.

A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

I am usually drawn to books that focus on sister relationships, but some of the more middling reviews has me a bit worried. We’ll see.

What I snagged from the library

Hunger by Roxane Gay

I have yet to read Bad Feminist although it has been on my list for awhile. I honestly wasn’t planning on picking this one up (it just sounded so depressing), but after hearing the author on NPR and reading some really positive reviews, I decided to give it a try. I’m very early into it still, but I really do like her voice.

My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf

Which, like, can’t really be his name, right? This is interesting so far. It’s crazy to think about those truly evil people before they started to act on that darkness.

Movie:

Colossal

This Anne Hathaway movie looks incredibly strange and quirky. I’m definitely game.

Well that’s it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers’ weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind 8.5.17

Add yours

  1. Congrats on the job!! What fun subjects to teach (I’d love the medieval history part).

    I thought A Map for Wrecked Girls was pretty good. Not excellent but it was worth a read. I hope you like it!

    Like

  2. I’m so happy for you to get this new job! You have worked hard and it is paying off!!! I had a long distance relationship as I finished college. It was hard, but we got through it and have been married for 29 years! I think teaching history will be a fun challenge for you. I don’t know how you feel about Crash Course on YouTube, but my son who just graduated high school found them entertaining, and a great jumping off point for new topics in his History class. Have a wonderful last few weeks of summer.

    Like

  3. So happy you found a local job – that’s great!! I want to watch Colossal but mu husband isn’t interested in it so I’ll have to catch it one evening when he works. I’ve heard great things about The Arsonist as well and will have to look up The Fourth Monkey – I’ve seen it on a lot of blogs.

    Like

  4. Yay! I am so happy to hear you got a job. That’s fantastic. Congrats! You definitely deserve it. The classes that you’ll be teaching sound awesome. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your summer!

    Like

  5. Sounds like lots of good things happening 🙂 Colossal looks really interesting/quirky – haven’t checked it out yet, but would love to know what you think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

