Weekly Rewind 7.22.17

Weekly Rewind

The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.

Throughout my student teaching semester I was using my weekend post as a way to let people know what’s going on in my life, so I’ve decided to rename my weekend post because this feature is more personal than just what books I’ve received. The Weekly Rewind will be about what’s going on with me and my blog, as well as about the books I’ve added to my shelves. This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

My Life and Blog

Life: It is insane how fast life can go when you aren’t really doing much of anything. Just puttering along. If you follow me on Instagram, you know that I cut off most of my hair. I really like it, but I’ve had super long hair for years, so it was quite the change. Super excited that GoT is back on. Did you watch last week? That opening slayed me.

Blog and reading:WoW this week, only, despite my best intentions. I do plan on writing a review for the show Friends From College that is new on Netflix. I sat down last Sunday looking for something to watch for an hour or two and ended up bingeing the entire show–as one does. I didn’t finish any books this week, but am currently reading The Fourth Monkey–which is messed up in the best way–and Because You Love to Hate Me. I’m about five stories into it and have enjoyed some more than others, which is always the case with these types of anthologies.

New books: I’m excited for this handful this week. So without further ado, I hope you’re all having fabulous weekends!

For Review

Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

I soon as I got the email that this was available, I downloaded it. I’ve been dying for this one. I am a 90s girl who grew up on Sassy Magazine and ‘zines, so I’m seriously all over this.

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

A look at the Lizzie Borden murders through multiple perspectives. It sounds intriguing.

The Secret History of Us by Jessi Kirby

A girl has no memory of high school after an accident. I feel like I’ve read this story before…a few times…but I did really like the one book by this author that I read, so I’m going to give it a shot.

Are You Sleeping? by Kathleen Barber

This follows the story of a woman who finds out that her father’s murder has become a popular podcast. The premise is whether or not the man accused of his murder was actually the perpetrator. This is obviously inspired by Serial, which I never listened to, but I am intrigued by the premise.

What I Bought

IMG_20170721_192216_671

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

This has been on my TBR for, like, two years now. I started reading it as an arc ages ago, but for whatever reason never finished it. I’m happy to have a finished copy.

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw

After her beloved tv show gets cancelled, a girl starts writing “fanfic” about kids in her high school instead. I’ve heard this is funny and feminist, so I’m excited to read it.

What I snagged from the library

fourth

The Fourth Monkey by J.D. Barker

This is fast-paced and incredibly interesting. It’s about a detective who has been investigating a string of murders committed by a serial killer. It starts with the death of said killer after being struck by a bus, and the subsequent search for the final girl he snagged before dying. My favorite aspect so far is the diary that he was carrying.

Well that’s it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers’ weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!

11 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind 7.22.17

Add yours

  1. I haven’t watched GOT yet because I was away until yesterday so I couldn’t watch and I’m going away again next week so I don’t think it’s worth it to watch right now but I WILL catch up when I’m back. I just hope I can avoid the spoilers. xD

    Like

  2. Yay for Game of Thrones being back! I thought last week’s episode was pretty good. A nice start. I liked The Secret History of Us too, hope you enjoy it! I thought it was good.

    I’ve seen that villains anthology around too and was curious about it. Sometimes anthologies are a nice break, something different.

    Like

  3. YOUR HAIRCUT LOOKS AMAZING! I really like the new ‘do! My hair is past my back but I can’t imagine cutting it off – it’s like an additional limb or something. I would probably cry. But it would probably look so great cut shorter. But I love it too much! *has a crisis*

    I liked My Lady Jane! A new book, My Plain Jane, is publishing in 2018. Exciting times!

    I hope you enjoy all of your new books! Have a fabulous week, Nat. =)

    Check out my STS post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

