Weekly rewind 7.8.17

Weekly Rewind

The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.

Throughout my student teaching semester I was using my weekend post as a way to let people know what’s going on in my life, so I’ve decided to rename my weekend post because this feature is more personal than just what books I’ve received. The Weekly Rewind will be about what’s going on with me and my blog, as well as about the books I’ve added to my shelves. This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga’s Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer

Life and Blog

Life: So last night I was about to start writing this post, and I noticed that my entire blog is covered in some Photobucket stuff that is just destroying my entire blog. I thought about trying to contact the woman who set up my blog, but she hasn’t posted on any of her social media sites or blog for almost a year. So I decided that this would be the perfect time to make the leap over to WordPress. I think I’m going to go with the free site for a month or so to see if I like it more before making the leap to my own domain. Honestly, for these past couple of years my blogging has mostly just been this weekend post, so I don’t know if I really know if I need anything more than the free site. We’ll see.

Anyway, life. My husband and I had a wonderful time in the Finger Lakes. We didn’t catch any fish, but the lake was gorgeous, the hiking was amazing, and the Tom Petty concert was awesome (I literally paused for a good minute while trying to decide what adjective to go with there…awesome is my go-to).

My neighbor died yesterday, which is so sad, but he lived a good life. I’m just so heartbroken for his widow. The two were married for 64 years. Can you imagine? We went over last night to spend time with her and her many kids and grandkids. She held on to me for ages which broke my heart.

Blog and reading: Again, if you’ve visited me at all over the last five (!) years, you are probably noticing that things look different. I’m currently reading Fragile Like Us; Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud; and American Gods. I really like the Starz show, but kept thinking to myself: If you would have read the book first, you would probably understand this better. At about 25% of the way through, I don’t know if that is really a true statement…but I am enjoying it (although I might like the show more–I know–sacrilege!).

New Books: Just a small handful of new reads today. So without further ado, I hope you’re all having fabulous weekends!

For Review

Fragile Like Us by Sara Barnard

This was orginially published overseas as Beautiful Broken Things. I remember seriously wanting it, so I was thrilled when I saw that it was being published here finally. I’m not loooving this, but it is very readable. I’m always drawn to stories of messed up female friendships…probably because I had some doozies myself as a teen.

No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

This follows a teen archer who finds herself in the past and decides to help the poor like Robin Hood. A fairly silly premise, but I do love that cover.

What I snagged from the library

 

Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud by Anne Helen Petersen

A direct response to the election of the current US president, this book follows the lives of “unruly” women and the ways in which our society fights to keep women in their “place”. Each chapter uses a case study, if you will, of famous women (like Lena Dunham or Melissa McCarthy). I’ve only read the first chapter (Serena Williams/Too Strong), but I’m definitely enjoying it.

Movie:
A Cure for Wellness

I’ve been dyyyying to watch this movie. It is one of my most anticipated films of the year. (So if you’ve seen it, don’t tell me!)

 

Well that’s it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers’ weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Weekly rewind 7.8.17

Add yours

  1. Oh no, sorry to hear about your blog and the photobucket stuff. I had WordPress a really long time ago, I switched back to blogger and bought the domain, I hope you like it and everything will work out for you there. That is wonderful you saw Tom Petty, I thought of seeing him in Denver 🙂 I hope you enjoy your new reads, have a wonderful week.

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your neighbor, that’s so sad. 64 years- wow. Good for them. The blog problems too- that can be so frustrating. Tom Petty though sounds like a great concert!

    Love that cover for No Good Deed.

    Like

  3. I am having a few issues with pictures that were hosted by Photobucket. So frustrating! I am glad you were able to move to WordPress. I have always wanted to do that, but am afraid to make the leap. I am glad you had a great trip to the Finger Lakes. Sounds awesome…I’ve never been there! I hope to read No Good Deed. I like the sound of it! I hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. I’ve been hearing horror stories about Photobucket, and I only used it a few times years go, when I was on Blogger, to edit photos. Now I use PicMonkey.

    I have six blogs on the free Word Press sites…and my website is a paid one, with my own domain. So far, I haven’t felt the need to upgrade my blog sites.

    Enjoy!

    Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud looks like a book I would enjoy. Especially now!

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  5. OMG. So much going on. I have to say, I starting typing in your blog’s URL and the link auto-filled and went to your blog and I was so confused!!!! I was like, where is her gorgeous background???? Thanks for posting the updated link in the comment. I hope everything works out with this new platform. 🙂

    My condolences, I’m sorry to hear about your neighbor! That’s heartbreaking. 64 years of marriage though, that is goals.

    Have a wonderful week, Nat! =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    Like

  6. Huh, No Good Deed looks cool but does indeed sound… kinda goofy. Ah well. Enjoy the books! And I hope WordPress works out for you — I’ve never blogged anywhere else, actually.

    Like

  7. I love WordPress. The free site has been fine for me and I’ve been blogging for five years. 🙂 I was a tad confused when I clicked through onto your blog! 🙂 I hope you enjoy your new books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑