Top Ten Tuesday (19) Favorite books that take place in school

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/original feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click the link to go to their site to see the original list for today plus links to a whole slew of other blogs. After you read mine, of course.

Today’s Topic is: top ten books that take place in a setting of your choice.
So I start student teaching in 2 weeks. Gah! So I’ve got school on the brain. That is why I’ve chosen to do: Top ten books that take place in a school.

I know this is probably going to be an extremely popular choice, but 5 of my ALL-time favorites fit into this category. 

The FAVS

 Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1) Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks 
 Election Prep

Books I really enjoyed

 The List Winger The Year of the Gadfly
Mind Games (Mind Games, #1)  Pivot Point (Pivot Point, #1) 

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Obviously. Is there any school cooler than Hogwarts?
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
So much love for this book that takes place in a Parisian boarding school. 
Why, yes, I am aware that this book makes, like, every list I make. It’s because Frankie is the coolest girl ever.
Election by Tom Perrotta
This may just be my favorite book of all time. It’s about a high school election for student body president and it is amazing. Seriously, if you haven’t read this book you need to remedy that immediately. 

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld
I absolutely love–love–this book that follows a girl through her four years at an east coast boarding school. It’s amazing and I cannot recommend it enough.
The List by Siobhan Vivian
I really enjoyed this book that follows 8 girls (2 from each grade in a high school who made the annual hottest and ugliest list) in the week leading up to Homecoming.
Winger by Andrew Smith
This book about a 14 year-old junior at a Washington prep school is hilarious and touching. 
The Year of the Gadfly  by Jennifer Miller
This book is kind of hard to sum up in a sentence or two. It’s about a girl who is new to a New England prep school who starts investigating the school’s secret society. The time alternates between this story line and that of one of her teachers when he attended the same high school in which he now teaches. 
Mind Games by Kiersten White
Sisters Annie and Fia, who both have special abilities, are invited to attend a special school that immediately turns sinister. You either love or hate this one. I loved it.
Pivot Point  by Kasie West
This awesome parallel worlds book takes place in not one, but two, high schools. 

So which location did you chose? I’d love to check out your lists, so link me up!

Hey lovely GFC and new followers, please follow me by Bloglovin as we all know Google Reader has gone/is going by the wayside. (I like to follow back, so please let me know if you’re a new follower–and leave a link!) Thank you!!!
30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (19) Favorite books that take place in school

Add yours

  1. Mhm, I didn't even think there were so many books set in school that I didn't even know about! Winger, for example, I've stumbled upon twice already today and it seems to be a really popular choice…mhm, I guess I should pick it up…Great list, by the way!

    Like

  2. Ashley and I almost did this setting and I can't believe Harry Potter didn't cross my mind. I can never remember to think past the last couple of years when making these lists! But yeah, love Pivot Point and Anna. Gotta still read the others!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

    Like

  3. I didn't make a list today but when I saw this is coming up, I've thought about doing a top ten books set in Australia. Time got away from me (grrrrr) so I wasn't able to make one.

    Anyway, I think I'd like to check out Winger and The Year of the Gadfly. Thanks for the heads up…and great list.

    Like

  4. Judging by how many people picked this topic, I'd say we all love a good school/boarding school setting. I've only read two of your picks, though: HP and MIND GAMES. I think my favorite boarding school books/series are The Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter and Shades of London by Maureen Johnson.

    Happy TTT (a day late)!

    Like

  5. We had the same idea, only I ended up narrowing mine down to boarding schools – and I had Anna THEN Harry! Winger made my list, too.

    Good luck with student teaching; I did mine with second graders and had a wonderful time, although I ultimately decided not to actually go into teaching (I should have stuck with library sciences).

    Erin @ YA Book Crush

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

