Bout of Books read-a-thon

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Time Devoted to Reading: 
My goal is to devote 3 hours a day to reading.
My Goals:
To finish a handful of books I’ve already started. I tend to read 3-7 books at the same time and right now I’m stuck in the middle of several books I’d like to get through.
I’d like to visit, comment, and follow at least 5 “new to me” blogs a day. 
Books to Read:
The books I’m currently reading that I would like to finish by the end of the read-a-thon are:
  • How My Summer Went up in Flames
  • The Summer I Became a Nerd
  • Reboot
  • Parallel
  • Firecracker
  • He’s Gone
Audiobooks I’d like to finish:

  • Burn for Burn (re-read)
  • We’ll Always Have Summer
  • Truth About Forever 

Books I’d like to start if I have time (or if these books aren’t doing it for me):

  • Book of Broken Hearts
  • All I Need 
  • All the Summer Girls
Updates:
I may or may not post my updates daily. I’ll try to post some updates via Twitter.

Monday: 
Hours spent reading: 2.5
Finished: How My Summer Went up in Flames
New blogs joined: 5

Tuesday:
Hours spent reading: 1.5
Finished: Audio of Burn for Burn
New blogs joined: 3
This wasn’t the best reading day for me. I had a headache for most of the day and had unexpected company over until late.

Wednesday:
Hours spent reading: 2
Finished: nada
New blogs joined: 9

Thursday:
Hours spent reading: 1
Finished: We’ll Always Have Summer
New blogs joined: 0

Friday:
Hours spent reading: 1
Finished: nada
New blogs joined: 0

Saturday:
Hours spent reading: 1

Finished: nada
New blogs joined: 0

Sunday: 
Hours spent reading: 2

Finished: nada
New blogs joined: 0

Wrap-Up
Well that was a bust. I could make excuses about working full time and going to school, but I’m not going to. Honestly, I think I’m just plain overwhelmed by the books I have piling up. I probably have 50 books checked out from the library and an almost unfathomable amount of ARCs. I need to stop trying to read so many at once, but I just get distracted so easy. Oh, well. Maybe next year will be better.

*This is the first Bout of Books’ Read-a-Thon I’ve taken part in. I’ve only been blogging for about a month, so I’m really excited. I’m participating because I’d love to connect with other bloggers. Comments and followers are welcome and much appreciated. I will always try to follow those who are following me, but if I somehow miss you, please just let me know. Happy reading, everyone!

9 thoughts on “Bout of Books read-a-thon

Add yours

  1. I'm awful for reading 2 or 3 books at a time but not 7!
    Good luck with your goal! I love the sound of How My Summer Went up in Flames and The Summer I Became a Nerd so enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

