Waiting on Wednesday (5) The Distance Between Us

Waiting on Wednesday  is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. Click the link to see the original post plus a whole slew of links to other blogs. After you read this one, of course.

The Distance Between Us

Title: The Distance Between Us
Author: Kasie West
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: July 2, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

************************************************************************************
Why I’m excited:
I really enjoyed Kasie West’s Pivot PointI was very impressed with her writing and can’t wait to read her next offering. This sounds like such a cute contemporary. I love a swoony romance in the summertime, and this looks perfect. It kind of sounds like Pretty in Pink–which is awesome. Plus just look at that charming cover. 
What about you? What book are you anxiously waiting for on this lovely May day? Leave me a comment below.
*Followers and comments are welcome and much appreciated. If you leave a comment, please also leave your link so I can come visit you. I’ll always try to follow those who are following me, but if I somehow forget you, please just let me know. Happy reading! 
40 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (5) The Distance Between Us

Add yours

  1. I still have to read Pivot Point, but this one sounds amazing too! I've really been getting into contemporaries lately, this sounds like one I would definitely enjoy. 😀

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW! 🙂

    Like

  2. Great choice! This one definitely looks like a great summer read. I haven't read Pivot Point but I've heard great things from those who have. Can't wait to read this one for myself 🙂

    Nice blog, and happy reading 🙂

    Like

  3. I haven't read Pivot Point yet, but I've heard good things about it. I'll have to check this one out, too. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Like

  4. I saw this book a few weeks ago and added it to my TBR list – I can't wait for it to be released. It looks fantastic! 😀 Plus, the cover is stunning. ^.^ Thanks for spotlighting this and for stopping by my WoW post. :3
    Happy Reading! 😀

    —–
    Tiffa @ The British Book Nerd

    Like

  5. Hi, Natalie!

    This is indeed a GREAT pick! It's going on my TBR at once! I want to see just how the author resolves this situation. You know, there's a stereotype about rich people, but then, stereotypes are stereotypes for a reason. I mean, look at Paris Hilton! I happen to know a couple of rich people, and they're not very nice. On the other hand, there ARE some rich people who are — it's just that they're a minority, I think! Lol. Anyway, I want to see how Xander does or doesn't fit the stereotype. Hope you enjoy reading this book yourself!

    By the way, thanks so much for visiting my WOW and commenting!! 🙂

    Like

  6. This one sounds so cute but also like it has a bit of an edge. And you're right, it might be similar to Pretty in Pink, which is I love 🙂 I never noticed that it's by the same author as Pivot Point! Cool that she can straddle several genres.
    Great pick, and thanks for stopping by earlier 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

